Vigen Chaldranian

Vigen Chaldranian

Vigen Chaldranian (born 1955, Yerevan, Armenia)
Film director, scriptwriter, producer and actor Chaldranian entered Yerevan Institute of Art and Theatre in 1975, and after graduating from the Department of Art of Acting, studied Theatre Directing at the same institute. Later he studied in the department of Film Directing at Moscow All-Union State University of Cinematography (VGIK) where in 1978 he shot his first short film Gold Laughs, based on Jack London’s story. Vigen Chaldranian has created nineteen films. In 2001 the President of the Republic of Armenia awarded him the Movses Khorenatsi Medal. In 2006 he was awarded RA Union of Cinematographers’ Anahit Award for his contributions to Armenian cinematography. In 2007 he was given the title of the Honorary Worker of Art of the Republic of Armenia. In 2008 he was elected as a Full member, academician of the International Academy of Sciences of Nature and Society. In the same year the Western European Academy of Sciences and Arts awarded him Professor Sofi Takhalova’s Golden Star Award (Netherlands). The European Academy of Natural Sciences awarded him “Gold Cross of Ludwig II of Bavaria” (Germany, 2009). In 2010 the US branch of Russian Academy of Natural Sciences awarded him the title of academician (overseas member) along with the Crown and Eagle Medal for his contribution to filmmaking. In 2010 the Fridtjof Nansen Fund in Armenia awarded him the Fridtjof Nansen Golden Medal. Chaldranian has also received prizes and diplomas at various International film festivals.

April (1985), A Voice in the Wilderness… (1991), My Farewell to be… (1993), Armenians (1994), …I Returned Home (1993), Chrism (1996), Lord, Have Mercy (1997), Symphony of Silence (2001), The Priestess (2007), Tours in Japan (2009), Maestro (2010)

 Hirair and Anna Hovnanian Foundation
Festival Coverage