White Ribbon

Year of participation 2010
Program Non-competition Programs

White Ribbon
Producer(s) Stefan Arndt, Margaret Menegoz, Veit Heiduschka, Michael Katz, Ulli Neumann
Director(s) Michael Haneke
Script Michael Haneke
Director of Photography Christian Berger
Production designer Christoph Kanter
Sound Guillaume Sciama
Edit Monika Willi
Cast Ulrich Tukur, Susanne Lothar, Burghart Klaußner, Josef Bierbichler, Michael Kranz, Steffi Kühnert, Christian Friedel, Leonard Proxauf
Production company(-ies) X Filme Creative Pool GmbH Kurfürstenstrasse 57 10785 Berlin Tel.: (49 / 30 / 230 833-11) Fax: (49 / 30 / 230 833-22) Email: Wega Filmproduktionsges.m.b.h A-1140 Wien Haegelingasse 13 Tel.: (43-1-98 25 742, 43-1-98 25 742) Fax: (43-1-98 25 833) Email:, Les Films du Losange 22, avenue Pierre 1er de Serbie 75116 Paris – France, Lucky Red


A village in Protestant northern Germany. 1913-1914. On the eve of World War I. The story of the children and teenagers of a choir run by the village schoolteacher, and their families: the baron, the steward, the pastor, the doctor, the midwife, the tenant farmers. Strange accidents occur and gradually take on the character of a punishment ritual. Who is behind it all? The village schoolteacher observes, investigates and little by little discovers the incredible truth….

Golden Palm, FIPRESCI Prize, Cinema Prize of the French National Education System (Cannes IFF, 2009), Best Foreign Language Film (Golden Globes, USA, 2010), Best Film, Best Director, Best Screenwriter (European Film Awards, 2009), FIPRESCI Film of the Year (San Sebastián IFF, 2009), Best Cinematography (New York Film Critics Circle Awards, 2009), Best Cinematography (Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards, 2009), Best Foreign Language Film (Chicago Film Critics Association Awards, 2009), Best Foreign Language Film (Toronto Film Critics Association Awards, 2009), Best Cinematography (National Society of Film Critics Awards, USA, 2010), Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography in Theatrical Releases (American Society of Cinematographers, USA, 2010), Best Cinematography (Chlotrudis Awards, 2010), Best Film Not in the English Language (Online Film Critics Society Awards, 2010)

 Hirair and Anna Hovnanian Foundation
Festival Coverage